The Stage unveils its annual The Stage 100 list


Extraordinary individuals from across UK theatre celebrated for response to biggest crisis the sector has ever faced.

The Stage 100 list – which traditionally reflects the 100 most influential people working in theatre and the performing arts – has been re-imagined this year to celebrate individuals who have gone above and beyond in helping theatre survive the biggest crisis the industry has ever faced.

This year’s list is not ranked by order of power or influence, but is instead divided into five areas. These areas represent the ways in which theatre has responded to the Coronavirus pandemic.

This year’s list only includes 99 entries to indicate that the judging panel considers it to be incomplete. The final space is left for all the other theatremakers who have done extraordinary and inspiring things in the face of huge adversity during 2020.

Putting on shows

• Lucy Askew and Zoe Seaton, Creation Theatre / Big Telly

• Justin Audibert, Unicorn Theatre

• Michael Balogun, actor

• Charlotte Bennett and Katie Posner, Paines Plough

• Michael Buffong, Talawa Theatre

• Peter Bull and Richard Lambert, Garden Theatre

• Nica Burns, Nimax

• Jonty Claypole, BBC Arts

• Linda Crooks, Debbie Hannan, Gareth Nicholls, Traverse Theatre, Edinburgh

• Zoë Curnow, Minack Theatre, Cornwall

• Bill Elms, producer

• Daniel Evans and Kathy Bourne, Chichester Festival Theatre

• Nikolai Foster and Chris Stafford, Leicester Curve

• Nadia Fall and Eleanor Lang, Theatre Royal Stratford East, London

• Henry Filloux-Bennet, Lawrence Batley Theatre, Huddersfield

• David Greig and Mike Griffiths, Royal Lyceum Theatre, Edinburgh

• Michael Harrison, producer

• Paul Hart, The Watermill Theatre

• Louis Hartshorn and Brian Hook, Hartshorn Hook

• Bradley Hemmings, Greenwich and Docklands International Festival

• Sarah Hopwood and Stephen Langridge, Glyndebourne

• Joseph Houston and William Whelton, Hope Mill Theatre, Manchester

• Wasfi Kani, Grange Park Opera

• Bill Kenwright, producer

• Jamie Lambert and Eliza Jackson, Lambert Jackson

• Adam Lenson, director / producer

• Iwan Lewis, Barn Theatre, Cirencester

• Katy Lipson, Aria Entertainment

• Tom Littler and Penny Horner, Jermyn Street Theatre, London

• Michael Longhurst and Henny Finch, Donmar Warehouse, London

• Danny Moar, Theatre Royal Bath

• Stuart Murphy, English National Opera

• Conrad Murray, theatremaker

• Adam Nichols, The Maltings Theatre, St Albans

• Ian Nicholson and Sam Wilde, director and designer

• Rufus Norris and Lisa Burger, National Theatre

• Adam Penford and Stephanie Sirr, Nottingham Playhouse

• David Pugh, producer

• Emma Rice, Wise Children

• Tamara Rojo, English National Ballet

• Michael Rose, producer

• Keith Saha and Julia Samuels, 20 Stories High

• James Seabright, producer

• Timothy Sheader and William Village, Regent’s Park Open Air Theatre, London

• Chris Smyrnios, Southwark Playhouse, London

• Tassos Stevens, Coney

• Nick Starr, Nick Hytner and Katrina Gilroy, London’s Bridge Theatre

• Matthew Warchus and Kate Varah, Old Vic Theatre, London

• Kenny Wax, producer

• Jackie Wylie, National Theatre of Scotland

Lobbying and campaigning

• Julian Bird, Society of London Theatre / UK Theatre

• Martin Burton, Association of Circus Proprietors

• Philippa Childs and Paul W Fleming, BECTU / Equity

• James Dacre, Royal & Derngate, Northampton

• James Graham, playwright

• Laura Horton, PR and playwright

• Andrew Lloyd Webber & Rebecca Kane Burton, Really Useful Group/LW Theatres

• Jon Morgan, Theatres Trust

• Bryan Raven, White Light

• Nicholas Serota and Darren Henley, Arts Council England

• Theatre freelancers, Freelancers Make Theatre Work

Serving the community

• Arts workers in NHS, Front line of the pandemic

• Esther Baker and Jennie McClure, Synergy Theatre Project

• James Brining and Robin Hawkes, Leeds Playhouse

• Andy Barry, Royal Exchange Theatre, Manchester

• James Mackenzie-Blackman, Eden Court, Scottish Highlands

• Sarah Bowern, English National Opera

• Sarah Brigham, Derby Theatre

• Ned Glasier, Company Three

• Tamara Harvey and Liam Evans-Ford, Theatr Clwyd

• Elizabeth Newman and Kris Bryce, Pitlochry Festival Theatre

• Indhu Rubasingham and Daisy Heath, Kiln Theatre, London

• Slung Low team

• Nikki Watson, Green Shoes Arts


• Audiences, donations instead of refunds

• Luke Barnes, Bryony Kimmings, Amahra Spence, crowdfunders

• Kenneth Branagh, Derek Jacobi, Judi Dench, Ian McKellen, Maggie Smith, Acting for


• Michelle Collins, #ForTheLoveOfArts

• Chris Marcus and Damien Stanton, Theatre Support Fund +

• Sam Mendes, Theatre Artists Fund

• Francesca Moody and Phoebe Waller-Bridge, Fleabag Support Fund

• Anna Saunders, Not On The West End

• John Studzinski, Genesis Foundation

Support and Development

• Olivia Beardsley and Isaac Stanmore, Showcase2020

• Mary Burch, therapist

• David Byrne, New Diorama Theatre, London

• Michael Grandage, Michael Grandage Company

• Simelia Hodge-Dallaway, Artistic Directors of the Future

• Rob Icke and Lyndsey Turner, directors

• Ellie Keel, producer

• Kwame Kwei-Armah, Sue Emmas and Despina Tsatsas, Young Vic, London

• Elizabeth Lawal, Coventry City of Culture Trust

• Kate McGrath, Fuel Theatre

• Kerry Michael, MENA Arts

• Andrew Miller, Jenny Sealey, Michèle Taylor, #WeShallNotBeRemoved

• David Mumeni, Open Door

• Francesca Murray-Fuentes and Molly Sharpe, Project Exchange

• Amanda Parker, Inc Arts

• James Phillips, Kim Grant and Lizzie Melbourne, National Student Drama Festival

Related Articles


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *